Wrestlers expressed disbelief on the committee formed to investigate the allegations on WFI


Wrestlers protesting at Delhi’s Jantar Mantar have expressed their displeasure over the committee formed by the Sports Ministry. Wrestlers say that the committee formed by the government was not discussed with the wrestlers before forming it.

The Sports Ministry has constituted a five-member committee to look into the allegations made by wrestlers against Wrestling Federation of India President Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh. Now the wrestlers have started raising questions on this committee itself. Wrestlers have registered their objection on the formation of this committee.

Regarding Indian Wrestling Federation President Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, Vinesh Phogat and Bajrang Punia said that the opinion of wrestlers has not been taken before the formation of the committee. In such a situation, this committee should be dissolved. Explain that this committee has to submit its report after investigating the allegations within a month.

Players made many tweets

Players have made many tweets in this matter. Wrestler Vinesh Phogat said that we were assured that we would be consulted before the Oversight Committee was formed. It is very sad that we were not even consulted before the formation of this committee. He also said that this monitoring committee should be disbanded. The new committee should also include members of our choice. This matter related to the exploitation of women is very serious.

Explain that the committee was formed by the Sports Ministry after the intervention of Minister Anurag Thakur. The committee will be headed by Olympic medalist Mary Kom. Yogeshwar Dutt, Trupti Murgunde, Radhika Sriman and Rajesh Rajagopalan are also part of this committee.

Wrestlers staged a sit-in

Let us tell you that the country’s veteran wrestlers had made allegations of corruption against Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh, President of Wrestling Association of India, from sexual harassment, mental harassment. The wrestlers staged a sit-in at Jantar Mantar for three days demanding action in the matter. After the growing performance of the wrestlers in this matter, Sports Minister Anurag Thakur had formed the committee on January 21 and also got the wrestlers’ strike ended.