Republic Day 2023: A glimpse of ‘New India’ will be seen on the path of duty in the Republic Day Parade, Agniveer will also march


Republic Day Celebration 20023: Today India will celebrate its 74th Republic Day. President Draupadi Murmu will unfurl the flag on Kartvay Path. After this a grand parade will be organized. It will give a glimpse of the country’s progress in various fields. Defense material manufactured in the country is being specially displayed. The President of Egypt, His Excellency Abdel Fattah El-Sisi, will be the chief guest of the parade. Agniveer will also be included in the marching squad of the parade. According to the Defense Ministry, the Republic Day parade will begin at 10.30 am. It will showcase a unique blend of military prowess and cultural diversity of the country. This parade will reflect the growing indigenous capabilities of the country, women power and the emergence of ‘New India’.

The parade ceremony will begin with Prime Minister Narendra Modi visiting the National War Memorial. He will lead the nation in paying homage to the martyred soldiers by laying a wreath. Thereafter, the Prime Minister and other dignitaries will come to the Saluting Platform on the duty path to view the parade.

As per tradition, the national flag will be unfurled followed by the national anthem with a 21-gun salute. The 21-gun salute will be accompanied by a 105 mm Indian field gun. It will replace the vintage 25 pounder gun, reflecting the growing ‘self-reliance’ in defence. Four Mi-17 1V/V5 helicopters of 105 Helicopter Unit will shower flowers on the spectators present on the duty path.

The parade will begin with the President taking the salute. The Parade will be commanded by the Parade Commander, Lieutenant General Dheeraj Seth, Ati Vishisht Seva Medal, second generation Army officer. Major General Bhavnish Kumar, Chief of Staff, Delhi Area Headquarters, will be the Parade Deputy Commander.

The proud winners of the highest gallantry awards will also attend the Republic Day celebrations. These include the winners of Param Vir Chakra and Ashok Chakra. Param Vir Chakra winner Subedar Major (Honorary Captain) Bana Singh, 8 Jammu & Kashmir Light Infantry (Retd.); Subedar Major (Honorary Captain) Yogendra Singh Yadav, 18 Grenadiers (Retd) and Subedar Major Sanjay Kumar, 13 J&K Rifles and Ashok Chakra awardee Major General CA Pithwala (Retd); Col D Sriram Kumar and Lt Col Jas Ram Singh (Retd) will follow the Deputy Parade Commander on a jeep.
egyptian army

Marching on duty for the first time, a joint band and military contingent of the Egyptian Armed Forces, led by Colonel Mahmoud Mohamed Abdel Fattah Al Kharaswi, will join India’s Republic Day parade. The contingent will consist of 144 soldiers representing the main branches of the Egyptian Armed Forces.

indian army squad
Captain Raizada Shaurya Bali will lead the contingent of 61 Cavalry. 61 Cavalry has the distinction of being the only active cavalry regiment of its kind in the world, a fusion of all provincial cavalry divisions. The Indian Army will be represented by a mounted column of 61 Cavalry, nine mechanized columns, six marching squads and a fly past by Advanced Light Helicopters (ALH) of the Army Aviation Corps. Main Battle Tank Arjun, Nag Missile System (Namis), BMP-2 / 2K Sarath, Quick Reaction Fighting Vehicle, K-9 Vajra-T Tracked Self-Propelled Howitzer Gun, BrahMos Missile, 10 Meter Short Span Bridge, Mobile Microwave Node and Mobile Network Center and Aakash (new generation equipment) will be the main attractions in the mechanized column. A total of six marching contingents of the Army including Mechanized Infantry Regiment, Punjab Regiment, Maratha Light Infantry Regiment, Dogra Regiment, Bihar Regiment and Gorkha Brigade will march in front of the saluting stage.

tableau of ex-servicemen
Another highlight of the parade this year will be the tableau of ex-servicemen with the theme ‘Commitment of ex-servicemen towards India’s Amrit Kaal with Sankalp’. It will provide a glimpse into the contribution of ex-servicemen over the last 75 years and their initiatives in shaping the future of India during the ‘Amrit Kaal’.

Indian Navy Marching Squad
The marching contingent of the Indian Navy will comprise 144 young sailors, which will be led by Lieutenant Commander Disha Amruth. For the first time, the marching contingent comprises three women and six Agniveers. This will be followed by the tableau of the Navy, which is centered on the theme of ‘Indian Navy- ‘War Ready, Reliable, Harmonious and Secure Future’. It will showcase the Indian Navy’s multi-dimensional capabilities, Nari Shakti and key indigenously designed and built assets under ‘Atmanirbhar Bharat’.

The front portion of the tableau will depict the women crew of Dornier aircraft, highlighting the surveillance flights of the women crew completed last year. The ‘Make in India’ initiative of the Navy will be displayed in the main part of the tableau. There will be a model of the new indigenous Nilgiri class ship with a Dhruv helicopter to deploy marine commandos. Models of indigenous Kalvari class submarines will be displayed on both sides. The rear side of the tableau will display models of autonomous unmanned systems being developed indigenously under the iDEX-SPRINT Challenge.

Indian Air Force Marching Squad
The marching contingent of the Indian Air Force will comprise 144 Air Force personnel and four officers, which will be led by Squadron Leader Sindhu Reddy. Centered on the theme ‘The Indian Air Force’s Power Beyond Borders’, the Air Force tableau featured a rotating globe showcasing the extended reach of the Indian Air Force, through which it provides humanitarian assistance across borders as well as exercises with friendly countries. able to do will also be displayed. It will also showcase Light Combat Aircraft Tejas Mark-II, Light Combat Helicopter ‘Prachanda’, Airborne Early Warning and Control Aircraft Netra and C-295 transport aircraft. The tableau will also display a contingent of Garuda in battle dress with laser designation equipment and specialist weapons.