Women’s IPL starts, 5 teams including Ambani-Adani’s teams will compete, BCCI earns 4770 crores


After the men’s IPL, now the women’s IPL teams have also started bidding. Owners of men’s IPL teams Mumbai Indians, Delhi Capitals and Royal Challengers Bangalore have also bought women’s IPL teams. In the first season, a total of five teams will compete.

There is good news for the cricket lovers waiting for the Women’s Indian Premier League. The first season of the Women’s Indian Premier League is about to begin soon. Now you will get a chance to see your favorite women cricketers playing in IPL as well. Five teams will play in the first season of the Women’s IPL.

The Board of Control for Cricket in India has sold all five teams. By selling these teams, the board has earned Rs 4669.99 crore. BCCI Secretary Jai Shah has informed about this. She said in a series of tweets that the official name of the Women’s IPL will now be the Women’s Premier League (WPL).

These teams will be included in the first season

The first and inaugural season of the Women’s Premier League will feature teams from Mumbai, Ahmedabad, Bengaluru, Lucknow and Delhi. All these teams have been auctioned. According to the information, the highest bid has been received for the team of Ahmedabad for the Women’s Premier League, which is the team of Adani Group. On the other hand, the Mumbai team has been bought by IndiaWin Sports, whose bid is the second highest.

According to the information, BCCI can start the first season in the month of March. However, till now the schedule has not been released regarding this. There is a possibility that the Women’s Premier League may be organized between March 4-26, with a total of 22 matches. These matches can be organized at Brabourne Stadium and DY Patil Stadium in Mumbai.

players auction left

Before this, women players will also be auctioned. So far there has been no auction of female players for the teams. This information has also not been revealed that how many players can be in a team. It is believed that the prize money in the women’s IPL could be Rs 10 crore. In this, the winning team will get Rs 6 crore and the runner-up team will get Rs 3 crore. One crore rupees will be given to the third place team.

Teams are sold in this much

Adani Sportsline bought the most expensive team for Rs 1289 crore. The Ahmedabad-based team was bought by Adani while IPL team owners Mumbai Indians, Royal Challengers Bangalore and Delhi Capitals made successful bids for Rs 912.99 crore, Rs 901 crore and Rs 810 crore respectively. Capri Global Holdings bought the Lucknow team for Rs 757 crore. Earlier, the BCCI had sold the media rights of the league to Viacom18 for Rs 951 crore, which would fetch Rs 7 crore 90 thousand per match for five years.