East Delhi Lok Sabha seat: Gautam Gambhir emerged in the political game with BJP’s victory


After the results of the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, the ‘lotus’ has once again blossomed in the Lok Sabha seat in East Delhi, one of the 7 parliamentary seats in the capital Delhi, which is a very exciting contest. Gautam Gambhir, who became Cricket and BJP candidate, has won the election field in East Delhi by beating his rival Arvinder Singh Lovely of Congress and Atishi of AAP. Gambhir defeated Lovely here by 3,91,222 votes.

BJP candidate from East Delhi Lok Sabha seat Gautam Gambhir got 6,96,156 votes. On the other hand, his rival congressional leader Arvinder Singh Lovely had to settle for 3,04,934 votes and AAP’s Atishi got just 2,19,238 votes. Voting was held in Delhi on May 12.

The seat in East Delhi includes constituencies such as Gandhi Nagar, Krishna Nagar, Vishwas Nagar, Shahdara, Patparganj, Laxminagar, Kondli, Trilokpuri, Okhla and Jangpura. This time, more than 20 lakh voters have elected their MP by using their franchise. In the Lok Sabha elections, the contest was triangular as the candidates of all three major parties entered the election campaign from here.

There was a triangle match between them

Gautam Gambhir: Gautam Gambhir, 38, a key member of the Indian cricket team, is starting his political career from this Lok Sabha election. Gambhir retired from cricket on December 3, 2018. He joined BJP on March 22, 2019. Gambhir had enrolled in Hindu College to graduate but was unable to complete his studies.

Atishi: Atishi, 38, is the education advisor to Deputy Chief Minister Manish Sisodia. She is also a member of AAP’s Political Committee. From this election she starts her political career. He has a bachelor’s degree in history from St Stephen’s College and a master’s degree in history from Oxford University London.

Arvinder Singh Lovely: Arvinder Singh Lovely, 51, was Minister of Education, Urban Development, Tourism and Transport in Sheila Dikshit’s government. Angry at the ticket distribution in the corporate elections, Lovely had joined the BJP on April 4 last year. After ten months, however, he returned to Congress. He graduated in political science from Khalsa College.

60 percent turnout

A total of 164 candidates competed for the seven parliamentary seats in the capital. In the sixth phase of the Lok Sabha elections held here on May 12, only 60 percent of voters exercised their right to vote, compared to 65 percent in 2014.

More than 60 thousand security personnel deployed

Strict security arrangements were put in place to ensure the polls were conducted peacefully and more than 60,000 security personnel, including house guards and paramilitary troops, were deployed throughout the city. 39,000 police officers and 13,000 house guards were involved to ensure the safety of the polling stations.

All three parties have drafted new candidates

From its seat in East Delhi, the BJP cut off the ticket of MP Mahesh Giri, who won in the year 2014. Mahesh Giri had defeated AAP candidate and Mahatma Gandhi’s grandson Rajmohan Gandhi in the last election. In this triangle contest, Sandeep Dikshit, son of Congress leader and three-time Chief Minister Sheila Dikshit, came in third. Although this seat is split between Congress and the BJP, in the 2014 general election, Congress held number three out of all seven seats and ‘AAP’ number two.

Status of Lok Sabha elections 2014

In the 2014 Lok Sabha elections, from East Delhi Lok Sabha seat, MP Mahesh Giri (BJP) received 5,72,202 votes, Raj Mohan Gandhi of AAP 3,81,739 votes and Congress leader Sandeep Dikshit 2,03,240 votes.

Current status here in 2019

Total number of voters: 20,39,220

Male voters: 10,94,362

Female voters: 8,75,656

Transgender voters: 79

The Seven Chairs of Delhi These are the candidates from all three parties

parliamentary seat BJP Congress you
Chandni Chowk dr. Harsh Vardhan JP Agarwal Pankaj Gupta
New Delhi Meenakshi Lekhic Ajay Make Brijesh Goyal
East Delhi Gautam Gambhir (cricketer) Arvinder Singh Lovely Atishic
Northeast Delhi Manoj Tiwaric Sheila Dikshit Dilip Pandey
West Delhi Pravesh Verma Mahabal Mishra Balbir Singh Jakharo
Northwest Delhi Hansraj Hans (singer) Rajesh Lilothia Guggan Singh
South Delhi Ramesh Bidhuric Vijender Singh (boxer) Raghav Chadha